A lot of drama has been seen in the two days of play in the ICC World Test Championship final. So far 28 wickets have fallen in the final of the third edition being played between Australia and South Africa. Questions are being raised on the pitch due to the fall of wickets in two days. Another controversy came to the fore in the second day's play when the case of 'handling the ball' against David Badingham came to the fore.
At the moment, the teams of Australia and South Africa are fighting to win the World Test Championship trophy at the historic ground of Lord's. On the first day of the match, South Africa won the toss and bundled out Australia for 212 runs in the first innings. After this, the Kangaroo bowlers retaliated and bundled out the Proteas team for just 138 runs in the first innings. At the end of the second day's play, Australia had scored 144 runs for 8 wickets in the second innings and their lead was 218 runs.
The case of 'handling the ball' came to the fore on the second day
If there is no controversy in the ICC final, then how will it be fun. Something similar happened in the last over before lunch on the second day of the World Test Championship final. South African batsman David Bedingham had to face a 'handling the ball' appeal.
While batting, Bedingham played a shot on Bo Webster's ball but the ball hit his thigh and got stuck in the flap of the pad. Before Australia's wicketkeeper Alex Carey could catch it, Bedingham took it out of his hand and put it on the ground. The Australian fielders made a half appeal, due to which the on-field umpires decided to review. It was visible on Bedingham's face that he had made a mistake. But the umpires decided that the 'handling the ball' rule does not apply to this reaction. So he was saved.
What do the rules say?
According to ICC rule 37.3.1: "If the batsman deliberately disturbs the field or distracts attention. Due to doing so, he avoids being caught out, then he will be considered out." In Badingham's case, the ball did not touch the ground, and if Carey had picked the ball up with his pad flap, he would have been out.
This rule does not apply when the ball is declared dead when the possibility of a wicket has ceased. According to Law 20.1.1.4, the ball is considered dead if it "becomes stuck between the bat and the batsman's body or between his clothing or equipment."
PC Social media